Backpack-palooza

I think I’m spending too much time on TripAdvisor…

A little freaked out by some of the posts regarding luggage and security inCentral America, I decided that my trusty MacPac Koru 80 is way too big, and today purchased an Osprey Porter 46 – so nearly half the size of what I usually travel with.

I know I tend to overpack, and a smaller bag will force me to take less, but not sure if a 5 month trip to South and Central America is the time to try travelling with a carry on sized bag!

The MacPac has been great, however I have mainly used it on small group tours to places like Sri Lanka and short trips to New Zealand and Bali. Not much need to carry the bag very far on any of these trips. The Osprey appeals as I can take it as hand luggage and also hopefully be able to keep the bag with me on the chicken buses of Central America!

I have also bought some Travel Space Bags, so will do a trial pack and see how I go with the Osprey. Luckily the store I purchased the pack from allows returns within 14 days!

Below is a pic of the two bags side by side. What do you think – less is more, or am I crazy to take such a small bag?

 

 

image

Osprey Porter 46 vs MacPac Koru 80

2 thoughts on “Backpack-palooza

  1. Good move. An normal human being can pack for 2 weeks and anything more than that is just wishful thinking. You probably only need to pack for one week and use your undies sparingly for a 5 month trip. I am sure you will experience the wonders of Latin American laundromats. Happy trails.

Leave a comment